Halloween DIY – Decorative Serving Dishes

Hello again so soon! I’m bursting at the seams with Halloween projects, so stay tuned! Anyway,today I’ve got a cute (I mean scary) serving platter pair and a chalice that all match to share with you. I got all of the ingredients at the dollar store or thrift shop so the cost of these projects was around $7-8 for all three. You may even be able to find most of the items needed for these projects already laying around your house so that could make these much cheaper!

Ingredients:

2 candle holders (glass, plastic, wooden, whatever)

2 serving platters (again, glass, metal, wooden, whatever)

small plastic bones

E6000 glue (for metal/glass parts) or hot glue gun/glue

Primer and paint

I got my inspiration for the platter project here, so go there and check it out. I’m not going to give you a step by step because it’s already been covered but I’ll show you some pictures so you can see how my projects went!

gluing on plastic bones

gluing on plastic bones

all ready to be painted

all ready to be painted (and another project soon to come!)

silver paint

silver paint

finished platters

finished platters

awesome!

awesome!

I couldn’t be done with just the platters and I found this cheap Halloween chalice at Goodwill so I decided to chop a skull in half (thwack!) and glue it to the side then paint it to match my platters. So I have a whole set!

little plastic skull and goblet

little plastic skull and chalice

glued on skull

glued on skull

painted skull chalice

painted skull chalice

another shot of the chalice

another shot of the chalice

All done! Pretty nice set, huh?

 

all 3 pieces together

all 3 pieces together

© 2014 Bowls Full of Yummy. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Bowls Full of Yummy with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

One response

Leave a Reply

