Homemade All Natural Deodorant

Hello hello hello. So how does everyone feel about homemade beauty products? I used to not really feel anything at all about them until I started to research the ingredients listed on their bottles and I kept getting more and more concerned the more I learned. I really never thought I’d be so crunchy as to make my own deodorant but hey, cancer and Alzheimer’s suck and I’m not about to keep encouraging their arrival. Among the TONS of other carcinogens you can find in health care and beauty products, aluminum is a pretty nasty one (look it up people). Aluminum is in virtually every antiperspirant, it’s what plugs up your arm pit so you don’t sweat. No, I’m not making antiperspirant. Your body sweats for a reason. I wouldn’t plug up my bum because what comes out of it is stinky, so I decided it was time to stop doing that to my arm pits. We sweat to rid ourselves of nasty. I don’t want that nasty inside me! Okay, so anyway, I’m getting off the soap box and into my kitchen to whip up a batch of deodorant!

I’ve been researching the topic for months. MONTHS. What spurred me to get my butt in gear and actually make some of my own deodorant? I ran out of my store bought stuff. Told you I can be lazy! I have looked up so many recipes online for homemade deodorant I really didn’t know which one to use or which one I would like. So I ended making up my own recipe, based off of the many wonderful ones already out there. I’ll share my concoction with you. I’ve used grams to measure everything here as using teaspoons and such would have been much more difficult because the ingredients are used in such small amounts, plus, when the oils are solid they are very difficult to accurately measure. If you don’t already have one then shame on you (I’m so mean but haven’t we already been over this?), go get yourself a nice little digital kitchen scale already and you’ll be glad you did (then you can make this recipe).

Homemade All Natural Deodorant

25 grams beeswax (got mine here)

60 grams organic virgin coconut oil (I use Tropical Traditions, but any will do as long as it’s unrefined)

5-10 drops vitamin E oil (I just punctured a vitamin E capsule and used that)

40 grams organic unrefined shea butter (I got mine here)

20 grams avocado oil (or almond, olive, jojoba, etc., minimally processed/refined is best; I got mine here about 2 years ago)

15 grams arrowroot powder (or corn starch, organic is better, I used Bob’s Red Mill arrowroot powder)

15 grams bentonite clay (or diatomaceous  earth, I got my clay at a local store)

5 grams baking soda (or more, I used only 5g because baking soda can be irritating)

10 drops tea tree (melaluca) essential oil (you can use many other essential oils but I didn’t have any other ones and tea tree oil has lots of health benefits, I used NOW brand tea tree oil in a little bottle I bought over a decade ago)

Combine all oils and waxes (except the essential oil) together in a glass bowl and microwave (or melt over a double boiler-microwave is quicker) until melted. Add all other ingredients and stir well until all lumps are gone and mixture is smooth and combined. Pour into your containers. Allow to cool and use.

A pile of the oils, waxes, and powders I used

I got these awesome empty deodorant tubes from Elements Bath and Body (and no, I’m not an affiliate of any of the companies I’ve mentioned and do not make a single cent from mentioning them, I just wanted to share them with you) They twist up just like the store bought ones do (I made sure they are BPA free, of course)! You could recycle your old deodorant tubes as well, which is what I would have done if I had saved any….shame on me. Sorry the pics are bad.

tubetube2

 

The finished product! I’m SO excited to try my new homemade deodorant. Again, pretty crappy pics here, sorry! I only made a half batch so I could test it out and it filled 1 1/2 of my cool containers.

filled tubes

 

Let me know if you have ever attempted anything like this and share your experiences and recipes! Don’t want to go through all of the trouble of making deodorant yourself? I’m starting a line of all natural body products and I would love to sell some to you! You can leave a post here or contact me on the website and we can talk. I will be custom making many products. What am I making next? Homemade all natural cocoa butter lip balm! Exciting!

© 2014 Bowls Full of Yummy. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Bowls Full of Yummy with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

 

Leave a Reply

